Installing Exchange 2003

I think I better start to show you on installing exchange 2003 before I start to install Exchange 2007. For beginner, better start from MS Exchange server 2003 so that we know the differences on ways to install in different version of exchange.

As we know, Microsoft Exchange Server is a Email Server application. It provides convenient to send or receive email using our own domain, such as netoverme.info.

What we need in our network infrastructure before proceeding email application(exchange 2003)…? of course, our domain controller. Let’s say I have my own domain controller which is netoverme.info. Second, you would be like to need DNS Server. We can add our DNS server integrated with the domain controller.

Let’s say the exchange server is only a single server installed in my example. I would suggest that the Exchange server is installed on different server so that I would have headache to troubleshoot my network if the exchange server is installed in domain controller itself.

What do services and tools do I need to install Exchange Server 2003?

  1. I would suggest to use Windows Server 2003 SP2 or Windows Server 2003 R2
  2. The Server should be joined the domain into netoverme.info.
  3. Restart Computer and log on to the domain using Administrator or user that have member of schema and enterprise admin group.
  4. An Internet Information Services 6.0 is installed together with ASP.NET, WWW, SMTP and NNTP Service

Start Installing Exchange 2003

Put on your Exchange CD into CD-ROM. Let it run

Click on Exchange Deployment Tools

Click on Deploy the first Exchange Server 2003

you will be asked to do the eight steps. Please make sure you do the steps. the final step, you run the setup.exe

There are lot of information to be asked especially n the Component Selection after you click on setup. If there is a dash “—” on the action at the component selection, you have missed some steps. If the action says “typical”, you just click the “Next” Button. and proceed to create Ogranization. In organization wizard, I type “NETOVERME.INFO” as for my organization and click Next Button.

On Licensing Agreement, just click on I aggree that I read and will be bound by the licence agreements for this product.

Then, confirm the installation. There is a waning says that the domain would be unsafe… just click OK for proceeding the successful installation.

Leave a Reply

