Update Exchange 2003 Clustering

Hi Just to update on exchange 2003 clustering topic in previous post (https://netoverme.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/exchange-2003-clustering/).

SUMMARY OF MY STEPS:

What Did I do?

Before I install Exchange server 2003, I have to make sure I am running on the same version of windows server for instance windows server 2003 Enterprise edition R2.

I also have to make sure that I have 2 nics which is for heartbeat and public LAN. Since Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition is a member of a domain, my  SAN storage is running on a domain controller.

Furthermore, I need to create a user name for cluster, which I called admincluster. this should be created on local administrator of both servers.

Then run the cluster administrator and create a new cluster, for example a exchangecluster.

Add the first node and check the local quorum. make sure the quorum drive is set on the first node before adding the second node.

run the check up and analysis. Add the second node if it’s succeed.

I have to make sure that I install a component of Enable Network DTC access in both servers.

After that I have add a resource of Microsoft Distributed Transaction Coordinator. This can be done on a cluster resources.

We need a second drive to be shared as disk resource on clustering for mailbox databases. In this example, it is a drive E:ExchangeData.

Don’t forget to add a second node cluster. before install exchange server, test the cluster by shutting down the first node and the result the second node should be up.

after the clustering was successfully configured, then Exchange installation can be begun.

After Exchange software has successfully installed on both server, I have to add a resource of Microsoft Exchange System Attedant on cluster administrator.

Here is my attachment on step I’ve done on clustering before exchange installation

What Did I do on clustering before exchange installation

Leave a Reply

